India vs South Africa, 2nd T20I: Dinesh Karthik takes the juggling after the third attempt. look

India won another home series after beating South Africa by 16 runs in the second T20I at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati. The hosts took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series, with the final game set to take place on Tuesday. After posting 237 for three in 20 overs, India kept their nerves to seal their first white-ball win over the Proteas, despite David Miller’s undefeated century. South Africa’s top order continued to struggle as captain Temba Bavuma and Rilee Rossouw were both sent off on ducks.

Arshdeep Singh scored twice. Bavuma perished after finding Virat Kohli midway, while Rossouw attempted to take the air route, but only managed to steer it towards the point.

However, Dinesh Karthik nearly fumbled him, taking the hook in the third moment of the request.

India’s best order had given a show with Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav all playing valuable shots.

KL Rahul hit a 28-ball 57 first to give India a good start with Rohit Sharma, who shot a calmer 43.

Suryakumar Yadav went wild then, crushing 61 of 22 and Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 49 of 28 as India went 237/3.

In response, the Proteas lost the opening wickets before Miller and de Kock pulled South Africa close on target.

Both teams will play three ODIs, after the conclusion of the T20I series.


BCCI announced the Indian team on Sunday, with Shikhar Dhawan in the lead in the absence of Rohit Sharma.

Indian Team: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shreyas Iyer (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi , Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Topics discussed in this article

About Mitchel McMillan

Check Also

South Africa’s Du Plessis still doesn’t have time for ‘Bully’ Warner

Happier times – South Africa’s then captain Faf du Plessis (C) shakes hands with Australian …