Matt Sates, 17, South African swims 1: 57.60 IM / 51.83 FL in Durban

South African Grand Prix n ° 4 2021 – Durban

The fourth part of the 2021 South African Grand Prix is ​​underway in Durban. Three 17-year-old men marked the first of three preliminary / final sessions, including Matt Sates, who set two lifetime records both of which were under the FINA Olympic A Cup.

In the 200 IM, 17 years old 17 years old Matt Sates de SEAL lost 1.48 seconds off his season record clocking 1: 59.02 to reach 1: 57.60, moving into the top 15 in the world this season. Sates parted 25.14 / 29.93 / 34.32 / 28.21 in his evening prelims, which is now well under the FINA Olympic A Cup of 1: 59.67. Sates went on to win the final in 2: 02.74.

If Sates were American, he would rank No.3 all-time in 17-18 age group history, only behind Carson foster (1: 57.59, 2019) and Michael phelps (1: 55.94, 2003). The South African national record is 1: 57.03, set by Darian townsend at the French Championships 2009.

Sates hit his second Olympic A Cup in the 100 fly in the same session in a time trial, losing three-tenths of his 52.15 from RSA Nationals to go 51.83, swimming under the automatic qualifying standard 51 , 96. At the Cana stop of the 2021 South African Grand Prix series, Sates dominated the Olympian Chad le Clos 52.30 to 53.37.

Remaining No.13 in the 2020-2021 World Ranking was 17 years old Pieter Coetze in the 100 backstroke, who swam 54.31 to win the AM final after hitting 54.10 in the PM preliminaries. In the RSA 2021 domestic competition, Coetze swam 53.62 which reached the Olympic qualifying automatic cup of 53.85.

Coetze also scored a victory in the 50 fly. In the preliminary round, Coetze had the only run below 25 with 24.65, four tenths ahead of Alaric Bassoonfrom 25.05. Later in the finals, Coetze pushed back Basson by a tenth, taking the victory 25.25 to 25.35. Placing third was Brandon chapman from 0.01 s to 25.36.

Basson also swam in the 200 breaststroke, claiming an event victory in the final at 2: 15.44, improving from his preliminary effort of 2: 17.19 in the evening. Finishing 0.11 seconds apart for second and third place were Michael deans (2: 6.30 p.m.) and 15 years old Kian Keylock (2: 18.41).

Tokyo Olympian Tatjana Schoenmaker won the women’s 100 breaststroke in swimming 1: 06.88. Schoenmaker holds the South African national record in 1: 05.74, which ranks No.3 in the world rankings this season. Lara Van Niekerk placed second behind Schoenmaker in 1: 07.73, gaining four tenths of her preliminary swim in 1: 07.34.

Schoenmaker also swam the 200 freestyle, placing second in the prelims at 2: 04.55 behind 16-year-old Hannah Robertson (2: 04.05). In the AM final, it was Christin mundell (2: 04.56) who won the victory over Robertson (2: 05.94). Later, Mundell would win the 400 IM in 5: 01.91.

Another recent record in South Africa, Emma Chelius, won the women’s 50 freestyle at 25.20. Most recently, Chelius broke the national record at 24.72, automatically qualifying for the Tokyo Olympics. To complete the top three times, Olivia nel (25.94) and Rebecca meder (26.14). Nel also won the 50 backstroke at 29.04 while Meder hit 2: 14.32 in a 200 IM time trial.

Other highlights from day one:

  • Into the 200 fly, 17 years old Ethan du Preez swam a pair of 1: 57.85s on Friday night and Saturday morning. Earlier in the year, du Preez threw a lifetime record of 1: 56.16 before qualifying for the Tokyo Olympics in 1: 56.44 at the RSA Nationals.
  • In the men’s 50 breaststroke, the Tennessee teammate Michael houlie swam 27.68 to win the final after reaching 27.61 in the preliminaries.
  • Guy brooks led the men’s 100 freestyle preliminaries with 49.84, nearly a full second ahead of Matthew Bosch (50.80). However, in the final, Bosch took the victory by two hundredths over Brooks, 50.65 to 50.67.
  • In the men’s 400 freestyle, Brent Szurdoki set the fastest time in the preliminaries in 3: 53.95. Later in the final, Michael McGlynn (3: 56.56) narrowly held Henre Louw (3: 56.83) for the win.
  • The best swimming times in the 1,500 free events were Matthew Caldwell (16: 12.95) for men and Catherine van Rensburg (17: 10.32) for women.
  • After swimming 1: 00.20 in the women’s 100m butterfly preliminaries, Dune Coetzee broke a minute to win the final at 59.67.
  • In the 200 women’s backstroke, Hannah pearse shot the leader of the preliminaries Samantha Randle 2: 16.62 to 2: 16.93.

Source link

About Mitchel McMillan

Check Also

South Africa vs India: Aakash Chopra predicts the winner of the test series

SA vs IND: Aakash Chopra predicts Test Series winner© Instagram Former Indian team player Aakash …